Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
JesusCallingEveryday

My daily reflections from the readings of Jesus Calling

JesusCallingEveryday

August 8, 2016

"cultivate a thankful mind-set"...... Jesus wants my heart to overflow with gratitude, to cultivate a thankful mind-set. I was thinking about thanks. What does it really mean? The dictionary says: gratitude and/or appreciation. Other names for thankful would be: contended and grateful. These are words describing a person at peace, comfortable, glad, cheerful, pleased, satisfied...to name a few.

Have you ever seen a person say "Thank You" without a smile, or a hint of smile on their face? Why are they smiling? They have just received a gift! What kind of gift? Perhaps a material gift like a birthday or Christmas present, maybe something big; or maybe just a card, an invitation or a letter of appreciation or recommendation; or maybe a hand-made gift from a child? Maybe the gift was an intangible thing...a service or favor; an acknowledgement; perhaps a simple hug? Even a look of love, a supportive pat, a kind gesture from a stranger can be perceived as a gift.

What if the gift is from Jesus? Even greater! But when I'm in pain, or suffering, how can I thank Jesus for anything? Thank Jesus for a job loss, an illness, depression and grief, failing an exam? Really? Yes...really! These times can be the foundation for which I can "build my house"...living and loving my life Jesus' way. When I get through tough times, I come out stronger. It's hard to be greateful and thankful when I have a heavy heart. But, Jesus will open up the way before me. He is there for me. I am protected when the big storms come my way. I have so much gratitude and thanks for the opportunities to write about an share my ideas. I believe this is what Jesus wants.

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post